Friends, Movies / TV, Summer, Video

The show must go on…


Ahhh the theater, one thing that has always been an enjoyment for me. I know people say theater is gay and for wimps and what not but I find it to be the most real and true art form for telling a story. I first became interested in theater back in fourth grade when my speech teacher introduced me to Shakesphere. I grew up reading all of his works and moved on to many other works. Even thought I had a hard time speaking, when we did a play in english class I would be fully involved with the story. In middle school I did alot of the stage hand work because I was far to shy to engage in a part but never the less I loved watching all of these plays. During my 8th grade trip to New York City, I got to watch cat in the hat, lion king, and several other shows which were great. Even now I enjoy going to some shows such as book of mormon and smapalot. I will say I dont touch the really girly ones because they are not something I like but when Wolf Trap hold a production of King Lear, I am there. I also saw Spamalot with my brother when it was in DC and it was awesome. They included the audience and was just so funny and really was enjoyable.

Many actors will say o glad you liked so and so movie but when you say you saw them in a certain production they are asking you questions about the show and when you went and everything. Becasue the shows are live anything can happen and each one has its differences. for example the timing of a line or the emotions displayed or even in some shows the reactions by the audiance. I have quite a few friends that are in theater business and they do some marvious thing. One friend, Jarreau Williams, has jhis closing night of the production Shear Madness. I desparatly wanted to go but I just couldn’t find anyone to go with let alone the time. This do boug me but I know he is great and I cant wait for his next production. Another great friend, Lauren Shaw, used to do theater back in high school and worked on it through her college carrer. Now she is acting, danceing and even teaching people how to become a great actress like her self. She might not admit it but she is really talented.

If you have never seen a show i suggest you take time and go watch one. They are just like moives in that there are many different stories and genres to enjoy. They are very creative and even better than the movies. Two of my favorites are the book of mormon and Monty Pythons Spamalot. Yes movies have special effects and get the publicity but the theater is more raw and engaging! Anyways I want you all to watch and enjoy one at some point and if you need someone to go with you I am sure i can find the time. Below is the 2012 Tony Awards hosted by Neil Patrick Harris who is a man’s man but also is a great singer and preformer. So enjoy the show!

One thought on “The show must go on…

  1. I simply want to mention I’m beginner to blogging and truly liked this web-site. Most likely I’m planning to bookmark your blog . You actually have outstanding article content. Kudos for revealing your webpage.

Please leave a comment and let me know what you think.

