History, ME, Reflection, TC Williams

True Role Models


I have three role models which I look up to and conduct my self in a manor that would bring honor to their legacies. These are not athletes or movie stars nor are they some internet or reality star. My models are ones who lived for knowledge and the betterment of man kind. They are known for their works and advances in the humanities and sciences.

My first role model is Mr. John Porter. He was my high school principle. I talked about him in detail on my last post. He dedicated his work to providing students such as I with excellent education and was an advocate to make sure we were learning the best ways possible back in high school.

My second role model is Leonardo di ser Piero da Vinci. He is best known for helping  advance our knowledge as a renaissance man. He was a master in multiple fields and professions and integrated multiple works together to help our understanding. He was a inventor, sculptor, architect, musician, scientist, mathematician, engineer, anatomist, cartographer, painter, botanist, geologist, and writer. Being experienced in each of these fields helped him be better at many others. He would use his skills as an artist to draw creatures he saw in the wilderness and for his drawing of the human body. He created a tank by watching a turtle and the plane by watching the hawk, not only animals but other objects like a screw gave him the ideas for a helicopter. Its these talents that drive me and make me look at myself as it is best to study and learn many things because learning one thing can help you understand something completely different.

My third and most looked to role model is Benjamin Franklin. He too is a renaissance man who helped advance not only our world through the sciences but also in the cultural and social realm. He was an scientist, author, printer, politician, postmaster,  musician, inventor, satirist, statesman, political theorist, civic activist, and diplomat. Just like Da Vinci, Ben Franklin used his knowledge in multiple fields of mastery to better the lives of men. Since learning about him back in elementary school, I knew he had rested a values of life idea but at that age I did not know what it really meant but these days I do and I am starting to follow his teachings to better live my  life and to create a better world as well as a legacy for my name.

  • “Temperance. Eat not to dullness; drink not to elevation.”
  • “Silence. Speak not but what may benefit others or yourself; avoid trifling conversation.”
  • “Order. Let all your things have their places; let each part of your business have its time.”
  • “Resolution. Resolve to perform what you ought; perform without fail what you resolve.”
  • “Frugality. Make no expense but to do good to others or yourself; i.e., waste nothing.”
  • “Industry. Lose no time; be always employ’d in something useful; cut off all unnecessary actions.”
  • “Sincerity. Use no hurtful deceit; think innocently and justly, and, if you speak, speak accordingly.”
  • “Justice. Wrong none by doing injuries, or omitting the benefits that are your duty.”
  • “Moderation. Avoid extremes; forbear resenting injuries so much as you think they deserve.”
  • “Cleanliness. Tolerate no uncleanliness in body, cloaths, or habitation.”
  • “Tranquility. Be not disturbed at trifles, or at accidents common or unavoidable.”
  • “Chastity. Rarely use venery but for health or offspring, never to dullness, weakness, or the injury of your own or another’s peace or reputation.”
  • “Humility. Imitate Jesus and Socrates.”

I have always been different and I know I am not better than anyone but I have tried to learn as much as I can and work in as many fields that I can. One can have total knowledge in a field but still be ignorant to the rest of the world. My goals are to maintain my word and my honor because that is all I really have in my life. I will continue to look to the sciences and learn as much as I can until I die because I may never be as great or as well known as these three men but I can definitely change and make a difference for the human race.

Please leave a comment and let me know what you think.

