DC, Humor, ME, Pictures, Video

The Circus was in Town


On Sunday night I treated myself to a date night with me myself and I. The three of us went to dinner and a show but it was super awkward being the third wheel. Lol Anyways the show I went to see was the last show of a touring show called Totem by Cirque du Soleil. If you have never seen one of their productions then you are missing out on a real experience.

Cirque du Soleil is a Canadian company that pretty much is the circus. Each of the many shows has a connecting theme and all of the acts tell a story. These shows feature acrobats and other talents in such a way as to bring a new idea of wonder and art to the stage. I first watched a recorded version of a Cirque du Soleil over 10 years ago and loved it.
20121009-004012.jpg
20121009-004210.jpg

Totem was amazing and tells the story of evolution of mankind from its primordial, amphibian state toward the aspiration of flight, taking inspiration from many of mankind’s founding myths. From lizards to monkeys to our current place on Earth it was a very interesting and artistic story. There was this one little bold Italian clown that is in a few skits that was so funny. I can’t remember the exact number of acts but there were so many and the show lasted for close to 3 hours. Of all of the acts, I had two favorites the science act and the Native American love one.

20121009-004218.jpg

I don’t want to ruin to much of the shows but the science act is of this lab coat professor who juggles. I know it doesn’t seem like much but the act evolves as he is juggling and combining atoms and chemicals. The symbolism and creativity of this act was really awesome with all of the lights and glow in the dark fluids. The second act I enjoyed was of these two native American characters who are on roller skates. It’s a fertility dance and a joining of tribes. It really brings different people together and was a very interesting to see this dance. Like I said it was while they were on roller skates dancing on a large native American drum that was made to seem like a bed. It was great and was beautiful to watch. 20121009-004006.jpg

I have said before I enjoy the theater and this was a great mix of art and talent. Not only was the story good but all of the costumes supported and were very imaginative of each act. The stunts of the acrobats really were able to support the story and make each of them even more interesting. I highly recommend everyone to go see this production and/or any Cirque du Soleil show, it is great for dates or a romantic comedy.

20121009-003638.jpg

20121009-003652.jpg

Please leave a comment and let me know what you think.

DC, Humor, ME, Pictures, Video

The Circus was in Town


On Sunday night I treated myself to a date night with me myself and I. The three of us went to dinner and a show but it was super awkward being the third wheel. Lol Anyways the show I went to see was the last show of a touring show called Totem by Cirque du Soleil. If you have never seen one of their productions then you are missing out on a real experience.

Cirque du Soleil is a Canadian company that pretty much is the circus. Each of the many shows has a connecting theme and all of the acts tell a story. These shows feature acrobats and other talents in such a way as to bring a new idea of wonder and art to the stage. I first watched a recorded version of a Cirque du Soleil over 10 years ago and loved it.
20121009-004012.jpg
20121009-004210.jpg

Totem was amazing and tells the story of evolution of mankind from its primordial, amphibian state toward the aspiration of flight, taking inspiration from many of mankind’s founding myths. From lizards to monkeys to our current place on Earth it was a very interesting and artistic story. There was this one little bold Italian clown that is in a few skits that was so funny. I can’t remember the exact number of acts but there were so many and the show lasted for close to 3 hours. Of all of the acts, I had two favorites the science act and the Native American love one.

20121009-004218.jpg

I don’t want to ruin to much of the shows but the science act is of this lab coat professor who juggles. I know it doesn’t seem like much but the act evolves as he is juggling and combining atoms and chemicals. The symbolism and creativity of this act was really awesome with all of the lights and glow in the dark fluids. The second act I enjoyed was of these two native American characters who are on roller skates. It’s a fertility dance and a joining of tribes. It really brings different people together and was a very interesting to see this dance. Like I said it was while they were on roller skates dancing on a large native American drum that was made to seem like a bed. It was great and was beautiful to watch. 20121009-004006.jpg

I have said before I enjoy the theater and this was a great mix of art and talent. Not only was the story good but all of the costumes supported and were very imaginative of each act. The stunts of the acrobats really were able to support the story and make each of them even more interesting. I highly recommend everyone to go see this production and/or any Cirque du Soleil show, it is great for dates or a romantic comedy.

20121009-003638.jpg

20121009-003652.jpg

Please leave a comment and let me know what you think.

