Agents of Shield, Awake, Batman, Firefly, Legend of Zelda, ME, Minecraft, Movies / TV, Star Wars, Star Wars The Old Republic, Technology, Video, Video Games, World of Warcraft

A Nerds Dream Weekend


This weekend is one any Nerd would enjoy, not only did Free Comic Book Day fall on this weekend but the following day was May 4th. For those of you who may not know May 4th is also known as May the Fourth Be with You in reference to Star Wars. There is also Revenge of the Fifth with conveniently and ironically lands on Monday. Also on May 4th, a very special episode of the Simpsons aired where they were all Legos. This weekend was a dream for me because I really let myself go and Geeked out all weekend.

To start the weekend I headed over to the Lego Store early in the morning. I picked up 3 small lego sets because I needed to spend at least $75 to get my Darth Revan minifigure. Luckily I planned this ahead of time and I had $100 in points through Lego so I didn’t have to spend any actual money at lego. I also picked up 3 Simpsons Minifigures since they were just released and I got Ralph, Apu, and Itchy. That alone made my day but I was just getting started.

I made it to the comic book store just as it opened so I was able to have a good choice of free comics to choose from. Free Comic book day promotes reading and getting into the local small comic book shop which I think it is a great campaign and welcomed by many. Now I was hoping to pick up Zombie Trap as one of the comics but they didn’t have it. I was able to get the other comics I wanted which were Guardians of the Galaxy, so I had plenty of time to read it and get ready for the movie since I was not familiar with the series much, and I also picked up the Simpsons comic which is always funny and a great tie in to the show. While I was there a woman was telling me about how much she and her husband enjoyed Mouse Guard so I also picked that up and have really enjoyed it so far. It is about an age where there are mice who protect other mice from the dangers of the world. It has a medieval feel to the story and reminds me of the knights of old whom were the protectors and would fight dangerous creatures and sacrifice themselves. I am going to pick up more of Mouse Guards because of that free comic.

The rest of this weekend comprised of me watching all 6 Star Wars movies along with the Clone Wars Animated movie and some of the episodes. I know a lot of people like to skip the 1st episode but I do like to watch it for a few reasons. First off it introduces us to Qui-Gon Ginn whom I think isn’t talked enough about and is interesting to see Obi-Wan’s master. Next is seeing young Obi-Wan and the acting by Ewan McGregor through all three films is some of the best and helps tie in old Obi-Wan with the young. Next is the ability to see the large worlds, in the original trilogy, we rarely see the large city and planet wide views and it is an excellent way to be immersed in the story. I also enjoyed seeing Yoda and the Emperor more and the action scenes were truly entertaining.

While watching the entire 12+ hours worth of movies I sat back and built a few of the Lego Star Wars sets I have. I had picked up the collectors edition of the Red Five X-Wing and it was a challenging but fun build. Like my collectors edition B-Wing I picked this up so I could display it and have a set to relax with. All of the detail with this model was carefully decided on and makes it a wonderful model to fanboy over. I also picked up General Gervious’ bike which I thought was an interesting build but just doesn’t feel right. The legs and the whole seating thing for the model feels off and not exactly like in the movie but the figures it came with make up for that.

To end this wonderful weekend the Simpsons 550th episode aired. Not only is it another milestone in the Simpsons era, but this episode was done with Legos. While the episode was CGI instead of stop motion like in the Lego Movie it was still very well done. The story matched the one from lego movie but instead of father and son this was father and daughter where the daughter doesn’t want to spend time with her father. There was a a lot of nice touches in this episode, I personally enjoyed the punishment Bart was forced into. I also liked seeing Bleeding Gums Murphy in Lego in Lisa’s room and all of the comic books converted especially Radioactive Fig. I would have liked to see Mr. Burns and a few other characters however it was a great episode and a wonderful addition to the top episodes.

Also this weekend I logged in to World of Warcraft for a while and did a few dailies and just looked around. I am considering coming back once a week or so but would rather have some friends to play with in game. I also bought a game called Craft the World and it is really fun but a little tricky. You control dwarves in a mine craft type world where you have to mine and use recipes to build but it is in a 2D format. The entire world reminds me of old Super Mario games where you can either go left or right. I would like a little more ease in building shelters and moving things around but all in all it is a fun game and think people should give it a try off Steam.

We all need a nice and relaxing weekend from time to time. For me this weekend was gold compared to many shitty ones in the past weeks. I hope everyone else had a great weekend.

Please leave a comment and let me know what you think.

