There are many times where I think back to fond memories in high school where I think of close friends or things that happened. These memories are sometimes so vivid that I feel like they are fresh and just occurred the day before. It is hard to imagine how ever that these memories are 10 years old or even older. I was able to reminisce many of these memories and even several I completely forgot about a few weeks ago with old friends. It really is hard to imagine that over 10 years ago, I graduated from high school and even more hard to imagine that we have now had our 10 year high school reunion weekend. Yes, you read that correctly, Weekend!!! A three hour small gathering is not long enough to catch up with old friends and find out what everyone is up to these days. So our high school reunion committee made it into a small weekend event. A good choice if you ask me because picking a date when everyone is free and able to attend is difficult especially at our age when so many of our friends are getting married and money is still a major factor in plans.

Like many TC gathering, it started with a happy hour at Chadwick’s bar in Old Town Alexandria. For those of you who aren’t from TC or familiar with Chadwick’s, it is the go to spot for TC alumni. On most holidays this is the spot everyone who is visiting from out of town heads to in hopes to catch up with others. There are many times when I have arrived at Chadwicks the day before Thanksgiving to find a multi-year reunion of TC students. It is only natural that this was our first gathering for our reunion on Friday in hopes that those that couldn’t make it on the weekend could show up for along happy hour and have a drink. I will say I was surprised how many people did show up and further more how odd it was to see people I went to school with drunk and silly.

On Saturday morning there was a tour of the new TC Williams High School. The Class of 2005 was one of the last ones to be in the old TC Williams High School before it was torn down and rebuilt. Now unfortunately I did not attend this but was told it was a very interesting and wonderful tour. Even our old high school principle was there to give a small speech to remind us where we had come from. The new TC Williams is massive and has alot of new and wonderful features but when ever I drive by the school I miss the old building and wish it was still standing.

Of course no high school reunion would be complete with out some music, dancing, and a remembrance of what it was like to be younger. While I am sure the reunion committee had their reasons and all; I know quite a few people were disappointed with the venue. For some reason a venue was chosen in an awkward part of DC. I can say on the walk to the car was kinda nerve-racking and shady. As for the place itself there was no working AC so the small gym we were in was pretty hot, sticky, and uncomfortable. The food wasn’t to bad but the beer did help get my mind from that quickly.

Even with these conditions, I still had a good time and glad to see quite a few people I haven’t seen or spoken to in many years. I was surprised at who did show up and alittle more surprised at who didn’t. Out of a class of over 500, about 120 were able to make it which isn’t to bad at all. There were a few people that didn’t attend who I really expected and hoped would attend because I would have loved to sit down and talk and catch up. Like many other classes we have had our fair share of loss and there was a nice little memorial set up for them along with a little prayer and speech given.

All in all I will say it was a nice weekend event and very glad I did attend. I hope everyone is doing well that did not attend and hope you atleast come to the next one. Below are quite a few photos of the event along with some from our yearbook since I never got a 2005 yearbook.

  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
     
  

  

Please leave a comment and let me know what you think.

