Family, Friends, Holiday, Personal, Reflection

Giving Thanks


For Thanksgiving this year my family was invited over to my sister-in-law’s family Thanksgiving dinner. Normally we have dinner at home with our uncle  a few neighbors and sometimes cousins. This typically is about 10 people or less. This year was such a wonderful gathering to be invited to and the weather outside was perfect for sitting outdoors and drinking some beer. Seeing and talking to more of my sister-in-law’s family was a real treat. Over 20 people were gathered around to give thanks and enjoy each others company. I am very thankful that we had the privilege to be invited and that they wanted to be bothered by our presence. By the end of desert I was ready to pass out from all the fun and excitement. I don’t know how the rest of them kept going for hours and hours.

Even though I was so tired I still wanted to make sure I gave thanks to those I care about. I spent a few hours sending personal messages to a number of people making sure they knew I was thankful they are here and in my life. I have many things and people I am thankful for and I just wanted to take a moment and really mention those that make life more interesting and enjoyable.

First off my parents, I am so thankful that they have been there to support me constantly. When one is younger they are embarrassed and just want to get away but as you grow older you realize how special and important they are. My parents have helped me through so much and there are times when I wish I had my own place but I still love them and enjoy being around them.

My brother, Harri, has been very important to me and over the recent years our brotherhood and friend ship has grown which I am thankful every day. I am thankful he cares and is there when I need him. Being able to work on projects together and just hang out and have a beer together has made this year even more special. I am of course extremely thankful I had the honor of being his best man at his wedding.

My new sister-in-law, Sarah, is such a kind a caring person and I am thankful she is apart of our family and that I can count on her. She checks up on me and wants me to regularly better myself which is the kick in the butt I need. I couldn’t ask for a better sister-in-law and even more thankful we get along most the time.

My brother’s father and mother -in-laws, Steve and Jean, are just amazing and fun to be around. I am sure my brother is thankful they are the in-laws you enjoy seeing and so am I. Spending time with them and talking is always a pleasure and I am thankful they are now involved in my family’s life.

My other sister-in-laws and brother-in-law, Kristen, Amy, and Steve Jr., are some of the best people one could want to spend the holidays with. While I don’t know if it is politically correct or not to consider them my sister and brother in law I like to think so because just spending time with them is always a blast and enjoyable. I would always be there for them if they ever needed and I am pretty sure the feeling is mutual… as long as I haven’t annoyed them to death yet. I am thankful my brother has two new awesome sisters and an even cooler brother to spend time with.

My uncle, Lloyd, is such a kind and caring person. I don’t spend as much time with him as I should but he has been so helpful to all of us I am glad and thankful he is part of our family.

My best friend, Ahmed, is the bomb simple as that. I am extremely thankful we have resolved our issues and that I get to hang out with him more often. He is one of the most loyal friends I have and I am thankful because of 14 years of friendship. I am also very proud of him for being a cop in this day in age and I am sure he will be there for those that truly need help.

My best friend, Naeroby, is one of the most important women in my life. While I don’t get to hang out or spend as much time with her as I would like, she is always there when I need her. She tells me what I need to hear when I need to hear it and never bullshits with me. I am thankful that for 11 years I knew I could count on her and that she would always be there. I am extremely proud of her as well for following her dreams and working so hard to get to the position she deserves.

My best friend, Siera, is another important woman in my life and she keeps me sane. I am so thankful that even with the distance between us we are closer than ever. Being able to talk to her regularly helps makes shitty days better and I am so glad we have been best friends for 5 years now. I am just as proud of her as all my friends and glad she on the path to be awesome.

My best friends, Adam and Megan, is a couple that I love to spend time with even if they don’t love to spend time with me. They have such a wonderful and unique relationship with each other, it gives me hope that I can be just as happy. I have known Megan since kindergarten but we haven’t been as friendly or close as we are now but I am thankful we are because of how caring and awesome she is. While I haven’t know Adam as long, we have a lot in common and having a friend like that close by is great at times.

There are so many other friends and people I care about that I am thankful for and I hope you know that even though I may have not mentioned you here I doesn’t mean I don’t care about you and wouldn’t be there when you need it. If you are on my Facebook or have my number then I means I want you as a friend and to be able to laugh and be happy when we are together.

Please leave a comment and let me know what you think.

